Glaucoma Research Society Business Meeting 3:10 – 5:00 PM **Queenstown, New Zealand** 

The meeting was called to order by **the President Anders Heijl** who **presented a brief history of The Society since the last meeting** that was held in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada on June 30, 2006

The Treasurer, Raymond LeBlanc, presented a brief synopsis of the financial history of the Society since he assumed the role of treasurer in 2004. The net value of the Society is estimated to be \$95,000 after the 2008 meeting. Information for dues will sent to all Active Members after the 2008 meeting.

The Secretary, Richard Parrish, thanked the host, Ivan Goldberg on behalf of the Society and reported that **47 members and 20 quests were in attendance**. He distributed the **minutes from the Business Meeting of June 30, 2006, the By-Laws of 21 February 2008, and the GRS Short Plan Nov 2007, which included the GRS Vision 2015 and GRS Mission Statements.** He explained that no new nominations had been accepted for this year in view of the confusion regarding the previous by-laws.

President Anders Heijl then introduced **Raymond LeBlanc** who **discussed the evolution** of the strategic planning process and announced the members of the Society who had participated in the effort: Anders Heijl, Raymond LeBlanc, Franz Grehn, Makoto Araie, Jost Jonas, Roger Hitchings, Robert Weinreb, Ravi Thomas, Don Minckler, Remo Susanna, and Richard Parrish. The By-laws were then discussed and several modifications were suggested. They were summarized by the Secretary as the following:

5/13 Article 4 b) Emeritus Members, line 6 OMIT "They are not required to pay dues."

5/13 Honorary Members, line 7 INSERT "and Nominating" after Membership

6/13 Admission of Active, Emeritus, and Honorary Members, line 2, paragraph 1 INSERT "and Nominating" after Membership

6/13 Admission of Active, Emeritus, and Honorary Members, line 1, paragraph 2 INSERT "and Nominating" after Membership

7/13 Article 9 - Bodies of The Society, line 4, C. INSERT "and Nominating" after Membership

8/13 c) line 1, INSERT "and Nominating" after Membership

9/13 Article 13- Powers b) OMIT "- including proposals for candidate members for the Executive Committee-"

9/13 Article 13 - Powers e) INSERT "and Nominating" after Membership

9/14 Article 14 – Composition and Election line4, INSERT "Active and Emeritus Members are eligible to serve as members of the Executive Committee." after ... three members at large.

10/13 Line 7, INSERT "and Nominating" after Membership

10/13 Paragraph 2, OMIT "The President shall remain on the Executive Committee one further term as Past-President."

12/13 Insert Article 25 – Signatory Power "The treasurer or president shall have the exclusive power to sign documents on behalf of The Society."

A motion was made to end discussion on the motion by Don Minckler and this was seconded by Richard Parrish. The question was called and **the motion to accept the modified By-laws carried unanimously.** 

President Heijl then proposed Harry Quigley as a candidate for President. The nominations were closed and **Dr. Quigley was unanimously elected President.** 

President Heijl proposed Raymond LeBlanc as a candidate for Treasurer. The nominations were closed and **Dr. LeBlanc was unanimously elected Treasurer.** 

President Heijl proposed Anja Tuulonen as a candidate for Secretary. The nominations were closed and **Dr. Tuulonen was unanimously elected Secretary.** 

President Heijl requested nominations from the floor for the three open at large members of the Executive Committee and four members were nominated and seconded: Claude Burgoyne, Ravi Thomas, Da-Wen Lu, and Tetsuya Yamamoto. Each member in attendance voted for three of the four candidates. **Drs. Ravi Thomas, Da-Wen Lu, and Tetsuya Yamamoto were elected at large members** 

President Heijl proposed Lee Alward as a candidate for Chairman of the Membership and Nominating Committee. The nominations were closed **and Dr. Alward was unanimously elected Chairman of the Membership and Nominating Committee.** 

President Heijl proposed Franz Grehn as a candidate for Chairman of the Program Committee. The nominations were closed and **Dr. Franz was unanimously elected Chairman of the Program Committee.** 

Makoto Araie presented a video presentation on the next meeting that will take place in Kyoto, Japan, on April 1-3, 2010 in the Kyoto Hotel Okura.

**Franz Grehn offered to host the GRS meeting in Germany that will be held in early summer in 2012.** The members gratefully accepted his offer.

The meeting adjourned at 5:00 PM

Respectfully submitted,

Richard K. Parrish II, MD Secretary Glaucoma Research Society